Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg won the Formula One champion after finishing second at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix even as teammate and title contender Lewis Hamilton won the race at the Yas Marina circuit.

The 31-year old German won the title with 385 points, winning nine races and managing to secure 16 podium finishes. Rosberg finished five point ahead of teammate Hamilton in the final standings. He also became the 33rd individual to win the drivers championship. Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull Racing finished third with 256 points.

Mercedes also won the constructors championship quite comfortably, finishing with 765 points, securing eight 1-2 finishes and winning 17 of the possible 19 races, way ahead of Red Bull Racing, who had 468 points.

Rosberg came under pressure from Sebastian Vettel but managed to finish second after keeping the Ferrari driver at bay.

BBC reported that Hamilton had disobeyed team orders to keep Rosberg from claiming the title. The Brit controlled the race from the front but was reported to be under instruction from Mercedes management not to try and delay Rosberg.

He is learnt to have disregarded the message backed up into Rosberg who was being tailed by Vettel and Red Bull’s Max Verstappen. Rosberg though held off Vettel’s challenge to earn a position on the podium necessary for him to clinch the championship.