Grandmaster Aravindh Chithambaram continued his fine form and drew with Ivan Cheparinov of Georgia in the fourth round of Abu Dhabi Masters on Saturday.

On a tough day for the huge Indian contingent, Chithambaram kept his cool after a Scotch opening game turned volatile.

With his king coming under attack, the Chennai-based player’s good defensive technique kept Cheparinov’s pieces at bay.

Grandmaster Debashish Das also did well to hold Nigel Short of England. Das has three points – same as Chithambaram – while five rounds still remain in the tournament.

Daniil Dubov of Russia emerged as the sole leader disposing Daniele Vocaturo of Italy.

With Dubov in front, as many as 10 players follow him a half point behind and then there are as many as 23 players on three points apiece.

Some Indian Grandmasters had a real hard beginning of the only double-round day in the event.

Highest-rated Indian Abhijeet Gupta could not find his form yet again and lost to unheralded Vietnamese Nguyen Anh Khoi.

MR Lalith Babu went down to Oliver Dimakling of Philippines while Firouza Alireza of Iran got the better of Aryan Chopra.

D Gukesh came up with a sterling effort to hold compatriot Murali Karthikeyan.

Selected results round 4 (Indians unless stated):-

Amin Bassem (Egy, 3.5) drew with Richard Rapport (Hun, 3.5); Kravtsiv Martyn (Ukr, 3.5) drew with Wang Hao (Chn, 3.5); Vocaturo Daniele (Ita, 3) lost to Dubov Daniil (Rus, 4); Ivan Cheparinov (Bul, 3) drew with Aravindh Chithambaram (3); Nigel Short (Eng, 3) drew with Debashis Das (3); Parham Maghsoodloo (Iri, 3.5) beat Aryan Chopra (2.5); M Shyam Sundar (2.5) lost to A R Salem Saleh (Uae, 3.5); Adly Ahmed (Egy, 3.5) beat V Vishnu Prasanna (2.5); Le Quang Liem (Vie, 3) beat Soumya Swaminathan (2.5); Sjugirov Sanan (Rus, 2.5) drew with N R Vignesh (2.5); P Iniyan (2.5) drew with Parligras Mircea-Emilian (Rou, 2.5); Nguyen Anh Khoi (Vie, 3) beat Abhijeet (Gupta (2); D Gukesh (2.5) drew with Murali Karthikeyan (2.5); Mads Andersen(Swe, 3) beat Sundararajan Kidambi (2); S L Narayanan (3) beat Gunay Mammadzada (Aze, 2); Firouzja Alireza (Iri, 3) beat Raunak Sadhwani (2); Ikeda Junta (Ina, 2) lost to Nihal Sarin (3); Oliver Dimakiling (Phi, 3) beat M R Lalith Babu (2); Rakesh Kumar Jena (2) lost to Erigaisi Arjun (3); Dinara Saduakassova (Kaz, 2.5) drew with Sameer Kathmale (2.5); Chinmay Kulkarni (2) lost to Sindarov Javokhir (Uzb, 3); Swapnil S. Dhopade (3) beat Suyog Wagh (2); Alinasab Mobina (Iri, 2) lost to Abhijit Kunte (3).