publishing trends

Indian fantasy writers are creating worlds beyond the epics, but readers must know where to look

A rejoinder to the argument that fantasy writing in the country is over-dependent on the religious epics.

Why haven’t Indian “fantasy” authors latched on to the Game of Thrones, The Lord of the Rings, or the Harry Potter models, asks this article. The writer then goes on to quote a number of people in support of her hypothesis that “Indian fantasy fiction” is stuck to the epics, the Mahabharata and the Ramayana, and that “no one” has broken “new ground” in this field. Instead, the market is sagging under the weight of “METOO” books – an admittedly witty anagram for “Mythological Epics Told Over and Over”.

Only, it’s simply not true. Or, not entirely true. Even a cursory search will show you that Indian fantasy has not been limited to the ethereal realm of METOOs. More than a decade ago, Samit Basu wrote the high-selling The Simoqin Prophecies, simultaneously “epic fantasy” in the tried and tested tradition of Tolkien and irreverent spoof of the genre a la Terry Pratchett. He followed it up with the equally successful The Manticore’s Secret and The Unwaba Revelations, both of which received critical and commercial success.

Nor is Basu alone in his genre. Recent entrants include Shweta Taneja, whose Anantya Tantrist mysteries blend detective fiction with horror and the supernatural. Granted, they do feature mythological beings, but hey, whatcha gonna do? It’s the burden of our heritage.

Indra Das’s The Devourers, more “literary” than many of his fellow fantasy writer’s offerings, tells the generation-spanning tale of werewolves and shapeshifters in Mughal India, following their path of destruction right to the dhabas of modern Calcutta. Sadly, this too features rakshasas, and even an allusion to the shapeshifters’ place in the Hindu pantheon, but, like I said, burden of heritage.

I haven’t even begun to speak of fantasy written in languages other than English, but if you’re very interested, Kalki’s Ponniyin Selvan, a saga that involves claimants to the Chola throne, war, intrigue and sorcery, is a good contender for post of the Tamil Game of Thrones, never mind the fact that it predates the latter by a couple of decades.

Nation-building

It is true that retailers – more often than publishers – position METOOs under the banner that the West has taught us rightfully belongs to people like Tolkien and his bevy of followers. But to do so is not entirely wrong.

Tolkien’s own project, the first of its kind to achieve any sort of mainstream success in the Western book market and position “fantasy” as a genre, began as a quest to write a national epic for England, in the vein of The Aeneid for Rome or The Faerie Queene for the Elizabethans. The Lord of the Rings, though it is read as a sword and sorcery fantasy today, was born of a desire to create a grand mythological history, something that would edge into the space occupied by King Arthur and his knights. Middle Earth’s geography and cultures have European roots, and even its languages draw on Tolkien’s knowledge of how scripts and tongues had moved into Britain’s borders.

A certain kind of nation-building project has, as a result, existed for a long time in epic fantasy (here I’m excluding the second world fantasies of Harry Potter and the like). Western authors have copied Papa Tolkien for decades (can we call them METOOs – Middle Earth Told Over and Over – as well?). It’s only recently that they’ve moved out of his shadow in any sort of large-scale fashion. As a result, you have the George R R Martins and the Patrick Rothfusses, who seem to make it a personal mission to turn Tolkien’s legacy upside down.

Catching up

Granted, the marketing of the fantasy genre in India is considerably different from its counterpart in the West. It is true that channels abroad are tried and tested, including a multitude of geeky fan websites that exclusively review and discuss developments in the genre. There are imprints and even entire publishing houses dedicated to Science Fiction and Fantasy (SFF), and agents and editors who specialise in it as well. On top of which, video and board games, films and TV shows have vastly enlarged the reach of the genre, encouraging more authors to take a stab at building new fictional realms.

But maybe it’s changing in India too, even if slowly. Juggernaut, publisher Chiki Sarkar’s mobile app venture, recently appointed the aforementioned Indra Das consulting SFF editor, and has been putting out short fictions and serialised novels in the genre by Indian talents, writing that notably does not fall into the METOO category. Young writers who grew up reading Harry Potter and Artemis Fowl along with stories from the epics are muscling into the fray, helped by the growing number of websites that devote themselves to publishing SFF stories. The “diverse books” movement in the West is only going to help these authors, with readers both at home and abroad clamouring for fresh content, from a mythos different from Ye Olde Englande under another name.

So, to cry that we may have to wait forever for something other than retellings of epics is not only disrespecting the rich writing that already exists, but also evidence of narrow thinking about where this new writing will be found and what form it will take. After all, Amazon classifications can hardly define literature, and the growth of the fantasy genre, even in the West, has been helped by a multimedia approach.

So, rather than just pick at books, we need to push for more games, more web comics, for movies that will divest rakshasas and naagins of their religious overtones. If there’s one thing that fantasy books teach, its that strength really does lie in pulling together.

We welcome your comments at letters@scroll.in.
Sponsored Content BY 

Virat Kohli and Ola come together to improve Delhi's air quality

The onus of curbing air-pollution is on citizens as well

A recent study by The Lancet Journal revealed that outdoor pollution was responsible for 6% of the total disease burden in India in 2016. As a thick smog hangs low over Delhi, leaving its residents gasping for air, the pressure is on the government to implement SOS measures to curb the issue as well as introduce long-term measures to improve the air quality of the state. Other major cities like Mumbai, Pune and Kolkata should also acknowledge the gravitas of the situation.

The urgency of the air-pollution crisis in the country’s capital is being reflected on social media as well. A recent tweet by Virat Kohli, Captain of the Indian Cricket Team, urged his fans to do their bit in helping the city fight pollution. Along with the tweet, Kohli shared a video in which he emphasized that curbing pollution is everyone’s responsibility. Apart from advocating collective effort, Virat Kohli’s tweet also urged people to use buses, metros and Ola share to help reduce the number of vehicles on the road.

In the spirit of sharing the responsibility, ride sharing app Ola responded with the following tweet.

To demonstrate its commitment to fight the problem of vehicular pollution and congestion, Ola is launching #ShareWednesdays : For every ​new user who switches to #OlaShare in Delhi, their ride will be free. The offer by Ola that encourages people to share resources serves as an example of mobility solutions that can reduce the damage done by vehicular pollution. This is the fourth leg of Ola’s year-long campaign, #FarakPadtaHai, to raise awareness for congestion and pollution issues and encourage the uptake of shared mobility.

In 2016, WHO disclosed 10 Indian cities that made it on the list of worlds’ most polluted. The situation necessitates us to draw from experiences and best practices around the world to keep a check on air-pollution. For instance, a system of congestion fees which drivers have to pay when entering central urban areas was introduced in Singapore, Oslo and London and has been effective in reducing vehicular-pollution. The concept of “high occupancy vehicle” or car-pool lane, implemented extensively across the US, functions on the principle of moving more people in fewer cars, thereby reducing congestion. The use of public transport to reduce air-pollution is another widely accepted solution resulting in fewer vehicles on the road. Many communities across the world are embracing a culture of sustainable transportation by investing in bike lanes and maintenance of public transport. Even large corporations are doing their bit to reduce vehicular pollution. For instance, as a participant of the Voluntary Traffic Demand Management project in Beijing, Lenovo encourages its employees to adopt green commuting like biking, carpooling or even working from home. 18 companies in Sao Paulo executed a pilot program aimed at reducing congestion by helping people explore options such as staggering their hours, telecommuting or carpooling. After the pilot, drive-alone rates dropped from 45-51% to 27-35%.

It’s the government’s responsibility to ensure that the growth of a country doesn’t compromise the natural environment that sustains it, however, a substantial amount of responsibility also lies on each citizen to lead an environment-friendly lifestyle. Simple lifestyle changes such as being cautious about usage of electricity, using public transport, or choosing locally sourced food can help reduce your carbon footprint, the collective impact of which is great for the environment.

Ola is committed to reducing the impact of vehicular pollution on the environment by enabling and encouraging shared rides and greener mobility. They have also created flat fare zones across Delhi-NCR on Ola Share to make more environment friendly shared rides also more pocket-friendly. To ensure a larger impact, the company also took up initiatives with City Traffic Police departments, colleges, corporate parks and metro rail stations.

Join the fight against air-pollution by using the hashtag #FarakPadtaHai and download Ola to share your next ride.

This article was produced by the Scroll marketing team on behalf of Ola and not by the Scroll editorial team.