U19 World Cup star batter Shweta Sehrawat will lead the India ‘A’ (Emerging) squad for the upcoming ACC Emerging Women’s Asia Cup 2023, the BCCI announced on Friday.

The All India Women’s Selection Committee named the squad that features many of the strong performers at the U-19 T20 World Cup with the likes of leg-spinner Parshavi Chopra and pacer Titas Sadhu also in the squad.

Additionally, after a strong showing at domestic cricket and the Women’s Premier League, lower-order batter Kanika Ahuja and spin-bowling all-rounder Shreyanka Patil have also made it to the squad. Nooshin Al Khadeer will be the head coach of the squad when India begin their campaign on June 13, when they take on hosts Hong Kong.

India ‘A’ (Emerging) Schedule at ACC Emerging W

Date Match
13-Jun-23 India ‘A’ vs Hong Kong
15-Jun-23 India ‘A’ vs Nepal ‘A’
17-Jun-23 India ‘A’ vs Pakistan ‘A’

India ‘A’ (Emerging) Squad: Shweta Sehrawat (Captain), Soumya Tiwari (vice-captain), Trisha Gongadi, Muskan Malik, Shreyanka Patil, Kanika Ahuja, Uma Chetry (wicketkeeper), Mamatha Madiwala (wicketkeeper), Titas Sadhu, Yashasri S, Kashvee Gautam, Parshavi Chopra, Mannat Kashyap, B Anusha.

The tournament, which will be played in Hong Kong at the Tin Kwong Road Recreation Ground, will feature eight teams which are divided into two Groups – Group A and Group B.

The tournament commences on June 12 and the final will be played on June 21, 2023. India ‘A’ (Emerging) is a part of Group A which also features hosts Hong Kong, Thailand ‘A’ and Pakistan ‘A’ while Bangladesh ‘A’, Sri Lanka ‘A’, Malaysia and the United Arab Emirates are slotted in Group B.