On Sunday, the India team announced its squad for the first three one-days against Australia starting on September 17 in Chennai. Spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were rested once again while fast bowlers Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami returned to the one-day squad after featuring in the Test series against Sri Lanka.

Ashwin is currently playing county cricket for Worcestershire and has a four-match contract with the English side. Ashwin’s next assignment is a home game against Leicestershire from September 12-15 followed by his last game against Durham from September 25-28. Along with Jadeja, the duo were rested for the Sri Lanka tour last month.

Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel were given an extended run due to their performances in the Sri Lanka one-day games, according to chairman of selectors MSK Prasad.

“The team for the three ODIs against Australia has been selected in line with the rotation policy of the Board and accordingly R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested. The team’s performance during the Sri Lanka tour was outstanding and players like Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who performed very well are being given an extended run and this will in turn supplement our approach, to build a strong reserve strength, as we prepare for forthcoming tours,” said Prasad.

India face Australia in a five-match one day series followed by three T20 International games. The first three one-day games will take place in Chennai on September 17, Kolkata on September 21 and Indore on September 24.

However, Mumbai pacer Shardul Thakur was dropped from the squad after he failed to impress the selectors during the Sri Lanka tour last month. However, he made it to the India A squad who will face New Zealand A in two four-day games beginning on September 23 in Vijaywada.

The squad for Australia series: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

India A squad for New Zealand A series: Priyank Panchal, R Samarth, Sudip Chatterjee, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Karun Nair (Captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shahbaz Nadeem, K Gowtham, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Ankit Rajpoot