East Bengal defeated Shillong Lajong by a margin of five goals to one at the Barasat Stadium on Saturday. Lajong, who had won their first two matches were thoroughly outclassed by Khalid Jamil’s men who won their first game of the season.

The host scored two goals within a span of six first-half minutes. Lajong conceded their first goal in the I-League in the 14th minute of the first half when Mahmoud Al-Amna dribbled inside the box and took a shot that was deflected off Rakesh Pradhan’s foot past the keeper.

East Bengal doubled their lead after Katsumi Yusa’s corner kick was met by Eduardo Ferreira who headed the ball towards the top corner of the goal in the 19th minute. Lajong created good chances up front with good possession play but were unable to beat Mirshad in the East Bengal goal.

East Bengal started the second half like the first, launching wave after wave of attacks. Laldanmawia Ralte received a through ball from Al-Amna in the 53rd minute and the former made no mistake putting it through the back of the net after getting past the oncoming keeper.

Danmawia bagged his second in the 65th minute after a mistake from the Lajong defence left him one on one with the keeper. He then earned his team a spot-kick after he was fouled by Redeem Tlang in the box.

Yusa Katsumi increased the lead to five in the 79th minute after he converted from
the spot. Lajong, however, got one goal back, courtesy of a free kick taken by their captain, Samuel Lalmuanpuia in the 87th minute.

The game ended 5-1 in favour of East Bengal with Laldanmawia Ralte being awarded the man of the match.