Day five saw more medals to India, as the badminton team finally won a mixed team gold at the expense of Malaysia, who they overcame in the final 3-1.

(Read more: Follow all the updates on an action-packed day five for India here.)

After an untroubled run to the final, a big test awaited the badminton mixed team as Saina Nehwal, K Srikanth and Co faced the second seed Malaysia, led by the inimitable Lee Chong Wei in the final. Srikanth overcame Lee Chong Wei, as Saina Nehwal clinched the tie and the gold for India.

The table tennis men clinched a memorable gold against Nigeria, winning 3-0 leading to a double gold in the sport for the Indians. Achanta Sharath Kamal, Harmeet Desai and Sathiyan Gnanasekaran came out swinging on a day when it really mattered.

The weightlifting contingent had already surpassed most expectations with five gold medals, and Pardeep Singh clinched silver, adding to the lifters’ tally.

Mehuli Ghosh came very close to winning a Commonwealth gold, but the 17-year-old eventually won a silver with Apurvi Chandela bagging a bronze. Jitu Rai and Om Prakash Mitharval also brought glory to India, the former with a well-deserved gold while Mitharval won a silver medal.

Mohammed Anas’ barn-storming run in the 400 metre semis saw him becoming the first man since Milkha Singh in 1958 to qualify for a Commonwealth track final while Tejaswin Shankar qualified for the High Jump final with Hima Das progressing through to the 400 metres semis.

Here are the results for team India on what turned out to be a eventful Monday, especially for the badminton and table tennis teams.


Event Team/Players Time (IST) Result
Mixed-team Final India vs Malaysia 1 pm India win 3-1, and win gold

India clinch historic gold against Malaysia.


Event Team/Players Time (IST) Result
Men's High Jump Qual Tejaswin Shankar 5.50 am Qualifies for final with jump of 2.21m
Women's 400m Round 1, Heat 1 Poovamma MR 6 am 5th (fails to qualify)
Women's 400m Round 1, Heat 5 Hima Das 6.30 am 3rd (qualifies for semis)
Women's 10,000m Final Loganathan Suriya 4.05 pm Finishes 13th with a time of 32:23.56 minutes.
Men's 400m Semi-final Muhammad Anas Yahiya 3.40 pm Wins heat and qualifies for final with a time of 45.44 seconds.
Men's Shot Put Final Tejinder Singh 3.55 pm Finishes 8th with a mark of 19.42 m.

Anas’ blistering run headlines day for Indian athletics, Tejaswin qualifies as expected.


Event Team/Players Time (IST) Result
Men's Skeet Qual. Sheeraz Sheikh, Smit Singh 4.30 am Smit Singh qualifies
Women's 10m Air Rifle Qual. Apurvi Chandela, Mehuli Ghosh 6.30 am Both qualify for final
Men's 10m Air Pistol Qual. Om Mitharval, Jitu Rai 4.30 am Both qualify for final
Men's 10m Air Pistol final Om Mitharval, Jitu Rai 7:30 am Jitu Rai - GOLD
Om Mitharval - BRONZE
Women's 10m Air Rifle final Apurvi Chandela, Mehuli Ghosh 9.00 am Mehuli Ghosh - SILVER
Apurvi Chandela - BRONZE
Men's skeet final Smit Singh 11.15 am Smit Singh finishes 6th with a score of 15.

Jitu Rai and Om Prakash Mitharval win gold and bronze, Mehuli wins silver while Apurvi wins bronze.


Event Team/Players Time (IST) Result
Men's 105 kg Final Pardeep Singh 5 am Pardeep Singh - SILVER
Women's 90 kg Final Lalchhanhimi 9.30 am Finishes 8th, with a 194 kg tally
Women's +90 kg Final Purnima Pandey 9.30 am Finishes 6th, with a 212 kg tally

Pardeep Singh clinches silver in the 105 kg category.

Table tennis

Event Team/Players Time (IST) Result
Men's team semi-final India vs Singapore 5 am India 3-2 Singapore
Men's team final India vs Nigeria 2 pm India win gold, beat 3-0 Nigeria

India sweep past Nigeria, win 3-0 to win double gold in table tennis.


Event Team/Players Time (IST) Result
Men's 52 kg Round of 16 Gaurav Solanki (Ind) vs Akimos Annang Ampiah (Gha) 8 am Gaurav Solanki wins 5-0
Men's 60 kg Round of 16 Manish Kaushik (Ind) vs Michael Alexander (TTO) 8.45 am Manish Kaushik wins 4-0.


Event Team/Players Time (IST) Result
Men's 200m Backstroke Heat 2 Srihari Nataraj 6.05 am 7th (fails to qualify)
Men's 50m Freestyle Heat 6 Virdhawal Khade 6.43 am 6th (fails to qualify)

Lawn Bowls

Event Team/Players Time (IST) Result
Women's Pairs Section A, Round 1 India vs Wales 4.30 am India wins 20-16.
Men's Singles Section A, Round 1 Krishna Xalxo (Ind) vs Cephas Kimwaki Kimani (Ken) 7.45 am Krishna Xalxo wins 21-12.
Men's Fours Section B, Round 1 India vs South Africa 12.30 pm India wins 19-7.
Women's Triples Section A, Round 1 India vs Fiji 12.30 pm Fiji defeats India 23-15.