Indian Tennis

Indian tennis round-up: Divij advances to Libema Open QF, Jeevan wins at Nottingham

All the action of Indian tennis players from over the world.

Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan, pairing up with Austin Krajicek, beat his compatriot Ramkumar Ramanathan in the men’s doubles round of 16 match at the Aegon Nottingham Challenge on Tuesday.

Jeevan and Austin of America lost the first set 3-6 but bounced back against Ramkumar and his British partner, Brydan Klein, to win 6-1, 10-8.

Ramkumar, the fifth seed in the singles event, will next play Germany’s Tobias Kamke for a place in the quarter-finals.

Jeevan and Austin, meanwhile, will take on Ukraine’s Sergiy Stakhovsky and Adrián Menéndez Maceiras of Spain in the quarter-finals.

At the Libema Open in the Netherlands, Divij Sharan and New Zealand’s Artem Sitak advanced to the quarter-finals after defeating the Spanish pair of Fernando Verdasco and David Marrero in straight sets. They will next play Gilles Müller and Romain Arneodo.

Prajnesh Gunneswaran’s much anticipated match against Canadian sixth seed Denis Shapovalov was delayed again due to rain.

Here are the full results:


ITF Portugal (USD 25K)
* Mahak Jain lost to Amina Anshba (Russia) [4] 5-7, 5-7 in the first round in the second round.
ITF Singapore (USD 25K) * Riya Bhatia lost to Pei-Chi Lee (Chinese Taipei) 2-6, 3-6 in the first round.


ATP Libema Open * Divij Sharan and Artem Sitak (New Zealand) beat Fernando Verdasco (Spain) and David Marrero (Spain) 6-3, 6-3 in the round of 16.
Aegon Nottingham Challenge * Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan and Austin Krajicek (USA) beat Ramkumar Ramanathan and Brydan Klein (United Kingdon) 3-6, 6-1, 10-8 in the round of 16.

ITF Sri Lanka F1 Futures (USD 15K)
* Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash beat Giovani Samaha (Lebanon) 6-0, 6-4 in the first round.

* Ranjeet Virali-Murugesan beat Louis Clark (Australia) (Retired) 6-2, 2-0 in the first round.

* Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam [7] beat Dineshkanthan Thangarajah (Sri Lanka) 6-4, 7-5 in the first round.

* Vijayant Malik beat Daniel Mora (Colombia) 6-0, 7-5 in the first round.

* Vinayak Sharma Kaza [8] lost to Anze Arh (Slovenia) 6-2, 4-6, 2-6 in the first round.

* Kunal Anand lost to Ignacio Carou (Argentina) 7-5, 3-6, 0-6 in the first round.

* Nitin Kumar Sinha lost to Vladyslav Orlov (Ukraine) [6]  4-6, 5-7 in the first round.

* SD Prajwal Dev beat to Diego Matos (Brazil) 6-2, 6-0 in the first round.


* Anvit Bendre and Nitin Kumar Sinha beat  Yasitha De Silva (Sri Lanka) and Dineshkanthan Thangarajah (Sri Lanka) 6-2, 6-4 in the first round.

Kunal Anand and Vinayak Sharma Kaza beat Chandril Sood and Lakshit Sood [2] 6-3, 6-2 in the first round.

ITF Zimbabwe F3 Futures (USD 15K)

* Anirudh Chandrasekar beat Vignesh Peranamallur (Retired) 3-2 in the first round.

* Jayesh Pungliya [5] beat Mark Chigaazira (Zimbabwe) 6-1, 3-6, 6-3  in the first round.


* Tarun Anirudh Chilakalapudi and Niki Kaliyanda Poonacha [4] beat Michael-Ray Pallares-Gonzalez (Dominican Republic) and Emmett Ward (USA) 6-3, 6-4 in the first round.

* Arjun Mahadevan and Anshumat Srivastava beat Connor Farren (USA) and Milen Ianakiev (Germany) [3] 1-6, 1-6 in the first round.     

(Note: Nationality mentioned unless Indian)

Support our journalism by subscribing to Scroll+ here. We welcome your comments at
Sponsored Content BY 

Do you really need to use that plastic straw?

The hazards of single-use plastic items, and what to use instead.

In June 2018, a distressed whale in Thailand made headlines around the world. After an autopsy it’s cause of death was determined to be more than 80 plastic bags it had ingested. The pictures caused great concern and brought into focus the urgency of the fight against single-use plastic. This term refers to use-and-throw plastic products that are designed for one-time use, such as takeaway spoons and forks, polythene bags styrofoam cups etc. In its report on single-use plastics, the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) has described how single-use plastics have a far-reaching impact in the environment.

Dense quantity of plastic litter means sights such as the distressed whale in Thailand aren’t uncommon. Plastic products have been found in the airways and stomachs of hundreds of marine and land species. Plastic bags, especially, confuse turtles who mistake them for jellyfish - their food. They can even exacerbate health crises, such as a malarial outbreak, by clogging sewers and creating ideal conditions for vector-borne diseases to thrive. In 1988, poor drainage made worse by plastic clogging contributed to the devastating Bangladesh floods in which two-thirds of the country was submerged.

Plastic litter can, moreover, cause physiological harm. Burning plastic waste for cooking fuel and in open air pits releases harmful gases in the air, contributing to poor air quality especially in poorer countries where these practices are common. But plastic needn’t even be burned to cause physiological harm. The toxic chemical additives in the manufacturing process of plastics remain in animal tissue, which is then consumed by humans. These highly toxic and carcinogenic substances (benzene, styrene etc.) can cause damage to nervous systems, lungs and reproductive organs.

The European Commission recently released a list of top 10 single-use plastic items that it plans to ban in the near future. These items are ubiquitous as trash across the world’s beaches, even the pristine, seemingly untouched ones. Some of them, such as styrofoam cups, take up to a 1,000 years to photodegrade (the breakdown of substances by exposure to UV and infrared rays from sunlight), disintegrating into microplastics, another health hazard.

More than 60 countries have introduced levies and bans to discourage the use of single-use plastics. Morocco and Rwanda have emerged as inspiring success stories of such policies. Rwanda, in fact, is now among the cleanest countries on Earth. In India, Maharashtra became the 18th state to effect a ban on disposable plastic items in March 2018. Now India plans to replicate the decision on a national level, aiming to eliminate single-use plastics entirely by 2022. While government efforts are important to encourage industries to redesign their production methods, individuals too can take steps to minimise their consumption, and littering, of single-use plastics. Most of these actions are low on effort, but can cause a significant reduction in plastic waste in the environment, if the return of Olive Ridley turtles to a Mumbai beach are anything to go by.

To know more about the single-use plastics problem, visit Planet or Plastic portal, National Geographic’s multi-year effort to raise awareness about the global plastic trash crisis. From microplastics in cosmetics to haunting art on plastic pollution, Planet or Plastic is a comprehensive resource on the problem. You can take the pledge to reduce your use of single-use plastics, here.

This article was produced by the Scroll marketing team on behalf of National Geographic, and not by the Scroll editorial team.