India and Pakistan were pitted in separate groups for both the men’s and women’s events as fixtures for the ICC T20 World Cup, 2020 were revealed in Sydney, Australia on Tuesday.

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup will take place from 21 February and 8 March, 2020, culminating in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on International Women’s Day. Hosts and defending champions Australia take on India at Sydney Showground Stadium on the opening day.

Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 will take place later in the year, from 18 October to 15 November.

Hosts Australia will play the opening match of the Super 12 stage of the tournament on Saturday, 24 October under lights at the Sydney Cricket Ground in a blockbuster match-up against the world’s top-ranked team currently, Pakistan. India will take on South Africa in the second fixture later on the same day at the new Perth Stadium.

The women’s tournament will also feature double-header semi-finals at the iconic SCG on Thursday, 5 March.

The first men’s semi-final will take place at the SCG on Wednesday, 11 November, with Adelaide Oval hosting the second semi-final the following night. Like the women’s final earlier in the year, the men’s final will be played at the MCG, on the evening of Sunday 15 November.

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

The eight top-ranked teams based on finishing positions from the World T20 2018 in the West Indies have automatically qualified, with the remaining two places to be determined through a qualifying tournament to be held later in 2019

Group A:

Australia (Defending champions and four-time winners – 2010, ’12, ’14, 18)
New Zealand
Sri Lanka
Qualifier 1

Group B

England (2009 champions)
West Indies (2016 champions)
South Africa
Qualifier 2

India’s group stage fixtures at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, 2020

India vs Australia at Spotless Stadium, Sydney on February 21

India vs Qualifier at WACA, Perth on February 24

India vs New Zealand at Junction Oval, Melbourne on February 27

Full women’s fixtures here.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

The top eight-ranked teams based on ICC World T20I Team Rankings as of 31 December, 2018 have automatically qualified.

Pakistan (2009 champions) and India (inaugural champions in 2007) enter the event as the teams ranked one and two in the world respectively, based rankings as of the end of 2018, and will therefore be in different Groups for the Super 12 stage.

First Round (Sunday 18, October – Friday 23 October)

Group A (Kardinia Park, Geelong): Sri Lanka plus three qualifiers

Group B (Bellerive Oval, Hobart): Bangladesh plus three qualifiers

Super 12 (Saturday 24 October – Sunday 8 November)

Group 1:

West Indies
New Zealand
First Round Group A team 1
First Round Group B team 2

Group 2:

South Africa
First Round Group B team 1
First Round Group A team 2

India’s Super 12 fixtures:

India vs South Africa at Perth Stadium, Perth on October 24

India vs A2 Qualifier at MCG, Melbourne on October 29

India vs England at MCG, Melbourne on November 1

India vs B1 Qualifier at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide on November 5

India vs Afghanistan at SCG, Sydney on November 8

Full men’s fixtures here.