Having not played in a Super Over before the start of the New Zealand tour, India have now been a part of two in two matches and ended up winning both as the visitors clinched another thriller on Friday in Wellington to take a 4-0 lead in the five-match series.

India beat New Zealand via a Super Over in the fourth T20 International after a second successive tied game. Chasing 166, New Zealand were coasting at one stage before the hosts yet again shot themselves in the foot to be restricted to 165/7.

Needing seven runs of Shardul Thakur’s last over, New Zealand buckled under pressure and lost four wickets as India took the match into the Super Over for the second consecutive game. Thakur was declared player of the match for his all-round performance (2/33 and 20 off 15 balls) as he picked up two wickets off knuckle balls while the hosts lost two wickets due to run outs. The well-set Tim Seifert’s run out by KL Rahul proved critical at the end.

In the Super Over, New Zealand made 13 runs, a target which the Indians overhauled with one ball to spare. Rahul slammed the first two balls for a six and four respectively before getting out while Virat Kohli hit a four off Tim Southee’s fifth ball. The stand-in captain for New Zealand had another forgettable Super Over outing.

India had earlier defeated New Zealand in the Super Over in the third T20I in Hamilton. The visitors now lead the five-match series 4-0.

Earlier, sent in to bat, India posted 165/8, riding on Manish Pandey’s 36-ball 50. It was an innings of great character and determination as he took India from 88/6 to a competitive total with help from Thakur and Navdeep Saini.

For New Zealand, Ish Sodhi (3/26) took three wickets, Hamish Bennett (2/41) picked two wickets, while Tim Southee (1/28), Scott Kuggeleijn (1/39) and Mitchell Santner (1/26).

Pandey delivers

Pandey proved his value to the team with an unbeaten 50 off 35 balls, taking India to 165 for eight from 88 for six in the 12th over.

India’s total was below par considering the batting-friendly conditions but the hosts made life a lot tougher for themselves from a commanding position before succumbing to pressure.

The entertaining knocks from Colin Munro (64 off 47) and Time Seifert went in vain (57 off 39).

Mohammed Shami, who was rested on Friday, had bowled a brilliant 20th over on Wednesday and man of the match Thakur was up to the task this time, conceding just six runs when the opposition needed seven for victory.

With the series already in the bag, India gave opportunity to Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar and Navdeep Saini for the first time in the five-match series, resting Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja and Shami.

Chasing 165, New Zealand lost Martin Guptill early. But Munro and Seifert put on 74 runs for the second wicket to put themselves on track.

Munro scored a half-century of 38 deliveries, inclusive of six fours and three sixes. He was out against the run of play as Kohli’s direct hit found the target after a relay throw from the deep. Munro was punished for jogging back for the second run.

It was the turning point as New Zealand lost regular wickets. Yuzvendra Chahal bowled Tom Bruce (0), but Seifert found a partner in Ross Taylor as they pushed the score past 150 in the 18th over.

Seifert scored a half-century off 32 balls, including four fours and three sixes.

Needing 18 off 18, the Black Caps lost four wickets in the last over bowled by Thakur.

Taylor holed out of the first ball, while Seifert was run out two balls later. Daryl Mitchell (4) was caught next and Mitchell Santner (2) couldn’t steal two runs off the last ball as the sides engaged in a tie-breaker for the second game running.

This was after New Zealand won a fourth consecutive toss and opted to field. Kane Williamson didn’t take part in the match owing to a shoulder niggle.

Tim Southee was the stand-in skipper, with the Black Caps making two changes.

Put in to bat, the visitors were struggling at 88/6 at one stage before Pandey’s lonesome rescue act took them to a respectable total. KL Rahul contributed 39 runs off 26 balls, inclusive of three sixes and two fours.

Leg spinner Sodhi got into the act and ran through India’s batting order. First to go was Shreyas Iyer (1) and then Shivam Dube (12) was caught at mid-wicket.

Sodhi finished with 3/26 while Santner dismissed Sundar for nought as the New Zealand spinners rounded up a good outing with 4/54 in eight overs.

The fifth and final T20 will be played on Sunday at Mount Maunganui.

Brief scores:

India: 165 for 8 in 20 overs (Manish Pandey 50; Ish Sodhi 3/26).

New Zealand: 165 for 7 in 20 overs (Colin Munro 64, Tim Seifert 57; Shardul Thakur 2/33).

Super Over: NZ 13/1, IND 16/1

(With PTI inputs)