Premier League announced on Wednesday that the summer transfer window ahead of the 2020-’21 edition will open for 10 weeks at the end of the current season, starting on 27 July and ending on 5 October.

The league said in a statement that shareholders have agreed on the dates for the summer 2020 transfer window, adding that following consultation with the EFL, a domestic-only window will be added from 5 October, closing 1700 hrs BST on 16 October.

This is the date Uefa had recommended for the closure of registration periods across Europe.

The Premier League said that following consultation with the English Football League, a domestic-only window will also be added from October 5 and close on October 16.

Transfers between Premier League clubs will not be able to occur during this period, but top-flight sides can trade with EFL clubs and loan or sign players permanently.

The EFL confirmed its window would open on the same day as the Premier League’s but clubs would have an extra two weeks for domestic-only business.

The transfer window is subject to the approval of Fifa, the league said.

Liverpool have been crowned as champions of the 2019-’20 season that comes to a close on July 27, following a hiatus due to the coronavirus pandemic.