Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya lost the Sirathu seat to Pallavi Patel by a margin of 7,337 votes. Patel represents the Apna Dal (Kamerwadi candidate), but fought the election under a Samajwadi Party symbol.

Before the polling officers declared her as the winner, voting was halted briefly after the deputy chief minister’s son Yogesh Maurya demanded repolling, Hindi Daily Hindustan reported. At that time, Keshav Prasad Maurya was trailing by 6,397 votes.

After the results were declared, the Samajwadi Party claimed that BJP supporters had thrown stones at the counting centre and had prevented Patel from collecting the winner’s certificate by creating a ruckus.

Social media users shared a video of an injured person saying there were attempts to commit fraud in election results.

Police had to fire in the air to control the crowd, NDTV reported.

Later, Patel was declared the winner and handed over the certificate.