Bharatiya Janata Party leader and first-time MLA Bhajanlal Sharma was sworn in as the chief minister of Rajasthan on Friday.

Diya Kumari and Prem Chand Bairwa were sworn in as deputy chief ministers by Governor Kalraj Mishra.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP chief JP Nadda were present at the ceremony, held at the Albert Hall in Jaipur.

Among the others who attended the event were Sharma’s predecessor and Congress leader Ashok Gehlot, former chief minister Vasundhara Raje and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.

On December 3, the BJP had emerged victorious in the Rajasthan Assembly election, winning 115 of 199 seats. Sharma won the Sanganer seat, defeating Congress’ Pushpendra Bhardwauj by 48,081 votes.

On Wednesday, Bharatiya Janata Party leaders Mohan Yadav and Vishnu Deo Sai also took oath as the chief ministers of Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.

Also read: Why is the BJP choosing political lightweights as chief ministers?

Rajasthan verdict in 30 charts: Poll was closer than results showed, Congress held on to vote share