Sharad Yadav, who served as the president of the Janata Dal (United) for the last decade, will not seek a fourth term. Party spokesperson KC Tyagi said in a statement on Monday that Yadav, who had served three successive terms as JD(U) president, refused to amend the party’s constitution so as to elect him for another term, PTI reported. Yadav reelected for a third term in 2013 after he amended the party's constitution, which earlier allowed only a two-year tenure.

Yadav was one of the founding leaders of the party along with Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. Yadav became the JD(U) president in 2006 after ousting its then chief George Fernandes in an election. He was re-elected in 2009 and 2013. The JD(U) will elect its new president at its National Council meeting scheduled for April 10.