The Bharatiya Janata Party has finalised its nominees to fill six of the seven vacant seats in the Rajya Sabha. The six nominees are BJP leader Subramanian Swamy, Olympic boxing medallist Mary Kom, former cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu, Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi, journalist Swapan Dasgupta, and economist and former member of the National Advisory Council, Narendra Jadhav.

The BJP is still debating over its seventh candidate, reported The Times of India. Actor Anupam Kher and journalist Rajat Sharma are the names in consideration, government officials told the English daily.

The Upper House has 12 members nominated by the president on the government’s recommendation. The ruling party or alliance has the option to recommend names of persons with special knowledge or practical experience in the fields of literature, science, art and social service. These members cast their votes in the Rajya Sabha with the Centre, despite being independent. This could possibly work in favour of the National Democratic Alliance in connection with the disputed Goods and Services Tax Bill.