From now on, Calcutta High Court will be known as Kolkata High Court, Bombay High Court (pictured above) as Mumbai High Court and Madras High Court as Chennai High Court, Communications and IT Minister Ravi Shakar Prasad said on Tuesday. He made the announcement at a media briefing that followed the Cabinet meeting.

The government had initially considered passing an executive order on the matter. It later realised that a Bill, which was approved by the Law Ministry, was needed as the courts were named under the Indian High Courts Act of 1861.

While Bombay and Madras changed their colonial names to Mumbai and Chennai in the 1990s, Calcutta changed to Kolkata in 2001. There have been demands for the high courts' names to be changed since their cities were re-named.