The Jawaharlal Nehru University administration on Friday allowed all 21 students involved in the controversial February 9 event on campus to register for the next semester. This includes union president Kanhaiya Kumar, and other student leaders Umar Khalid and Anirban Bhattacharya. “Students have been allowed to complete their registration process before July 26, the last date,” JNU registrar Pramod Kumar told Hindustan Times.

Kumar, Khalid and Bhattacharya were arrested on charges of sedition for allegedly shouting “anti-India” slogans during an event that marked the death anniversary of Parliament attack convict Afzal Guru. They were later released on bail.

On July 19, the university issued an order blocking their registration. Officials said the move to block the registration was taken as they were awaiting a decision from the four-member appellate committee that was formed following the orders of Delhi High Court. The probe panel was constituted to hear the appeals of those who had been found guilty of indiscipline. “But the final result of the committee will take time so we have decided to allow the registration. Students should not suffer,” Kumar said.