India will have a few new faces in its 15-man squad that will be fielded in the One-Day International series against New Zealand, which will follow the ongoing Test series. Senior batsman Suresh Raina was reintroduced to the MS Dhoni-led side, while the MSK Prasad-headed selection committee rested spin guns Ravinchandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja from the first three games of the five-match series, which was announced on Thursday.

With injuries to top-order batsmen Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul, Punjab batsman Mandeep Singh got the nod. Maharashtra batsman Kedar Jadhav, who is experienced in the domestic circuit, has also been included. Axar Patel and leg-spinner Amit Mishra, who also makes a comeback in the ODI side, are expected to assume the role of frontline spinners. Following fine performances in List A cricket, off-spinner Jayant Yadav got his first call-up to the Indian team.

Pacer Mohammed Shami has also been rested, and Dhawal Kulkarni replaces him. The first ODI between India and New Zealand will be held in Dharamsala on October 16.

The squad:

MS Dhoni (c), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Dhawal Kulkarni, Umesh Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav