Jammu and Kashmir minister Basharat Bukhari resigned on Friday after he was given the horticulture portfolio after a Cabinet reshuffle, reported The Tribune. He previously headed the revenue, relief and rehabilitation ministry, which was handed over to Abdul Rehman Veeri.

Minister for Information Technology, Technical Education, and Youth Services & Sports Molvi Imran Raza Ansari also resigned from the government citing “personal reasons”, reported Kashmir Reader.

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti on Friday expanded the Cabinet for the first time since she took over the government in April, 2016. Senior People’s Democratic Party leader Syed Altaf Bukhari, who had served in the Mufti Mohammed Sayeed Cabinet, was also inducted. Naeem Akhtar, who held the education portfolio, was made the new Public Works Department minister. Veeri was also assigned the Parliamentary Affairs Ministry.

Syed Altaf Bukhari was given the education portfolio, reported Greater Kashmir. His oath-taking ceremony was organised at Raj Bhawan in Jammu, in the presence of Governor NN Vohra. Syed Altaf Bukhari was the roads and buildings minister in the Mufti Sayeed-led PDP-BJP coalition, but was dropped when Mehbooba Mufti formed the government in 2016.

The Cabinet can have a maximum of 25 ministers. After Friday’s reshuffle, PDP has 13 ministers in the Cabinet and the Bharatiya Janata Party has 11, PTI reported.