reporters Ipsita Chakravarty, Rayan Naqash and Priyanka Vora won RedInk awards for Excellence in Journalism on Wednesday.

Chakravarty and Naqash won in the human rights category for a series of articles filed on the atmosphere in Kashmir after Hizbul Mujahideen commander Burhan Wani was killed in July 2016. Their pieces covered the unrest that followed, including a raid on a Kashmiri village where the army did not even spare its own staff.

Ipsita Chakravarty and Rayan Naqash receiving their award.

They also wrote about the impact of the unrest on education in the Valley where several schools remained closed for months and examinations got postponed after frequent attacks by suspected militants. Chakravarty and Naqash wrote about juvenile detainees in the region and pointed out that there was only one juvenile home for minors in the state.

Priyanka Vora receiving the award.

Vora had tracked the Japanese encephalitis outbreak in Odisha, which killed over 100 children. In her series, she looked other factors such as poor healthcare and malnourishment that contributed to the child deaths. Vora also reported on a prison-like facility for undernourished patients.

Apart from these three awards, also received three nominations.

Abhishek Dey was also nominated in the environment reporting category for his piece on the strategies adopted by farmers in Punjab and Haryana to reduce pollution on account of farm fires.

Menaka Rao was nominated in the health reporting category for her piece on Maharashtra’s HIV patients battling an acute shortage of drugs.

Sumana Ramanan was nominated in the entertainment and lifestyle category for her article on rural classical music.

Senior journalist Vinod Dua won the Lifetime Achievement in Journalism award, while Raj Kamal Jha, the chief editor of The Indian Express, was declared the Journalist of the Year.

There were 32 RedInk awards this year – 28 in the competitive category and four in special categories.