National News

EC issues notice for vice presidential candidates to file poll nominations

The last day to file papers is July 18, and the elections have been scheduled for August 5.

The Election Commission on Tuesday issued a notification asking vice presidential candidates to file their nominations for the elections scheduled for August 5, PTI reported. Incumbent Hamid Ansari’s tenure will end on August 10. Ansari has held the post for two consecutive terms.

The nominations can be submitted by July 18, and the scrutiny of nominations will take place on July 19. The last date for the withdrawal of candidates is July 21. The Election Commission has appointed Rajya Sabha Secretary General Shamsher Sharif the returning officer for the polls.

The candidate for the vice presidential elections requires 20 MPs as proposers and 20 MPs seconders. The National Democratic Alliance led by the Bharatiya Janata Party has 338 members in the 545-member Lok Sabha. In the Rajya Sabha, the BJP has 56 members out of 243, while the Congress, with 59 members, is the single largest party.

The Election Commission has introduced special pens for the electors to mark their votes in the upcoming presidential and vice presidential polls. A controversy had arisen during the Rajya Sabha elections last year after 12 Congress votes were declared invalid as the legislators had allegedly used their own pens instead of the designated sketch pen at the polling booth. This had led to the defeat of Congress-backed independent candidate RK Anand.

The process for the presidential election is already underway with the election date set for July 17. NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Opposition candidate Meira Kumar have filed their papers for the top post. The results for the presidential election will be declared on July 20.

We welcome your comments at
Sponsored Content BY 

Watch Ruchir's journey: A story that captures the impact of accessible technology

Accessible technology has the potential to change lives.

“Technology can be a great leveller”, affirms Ruchir Falodia, Social Media Manager, TATA CLiQ. Out of the many qualities that define Ruchir as a person, one that stands out is that he is an autodidact – a self-taught coder and lover of technology.

Ruchir’s story is one that humanises technology - it has always played the role of a supportive friend who would look beyond his visual impairment. A top ranker through school and college, Ruchir would scan course books and convert them to a format which could be read out to him (in the absence of e-books for school). He also developed a lot of his work ethos on the philosophy of Open Source software, having contributed to various open source projects. The access provided by Open Source, where users could take a source code, modify it and distribute their own versions of the program, attracted him because of the even footing it gave everyone.

That is why I like being in programming. Nobody cares if you are in a wheelchair. Whatever be your physical disability, you are equal with every other developer. If your code works, good. If it doesn’t, you’ll be told so.

— Ruchir.

Motivated by the objectivity that technology provided, Ruchir made it his career. Despite having earned degree in computer engineering and an MBA, friends and family feared his visual impairment would prove difficult to overcome in a work setting. But Ruchir, who doesn’t like quotas or the ‘special’ tag he is often labelled with, used technology to prove that differently abled persons can work on an equal footing.

As he delved deeper into the tech space, Ruchir realised that he sought to explore the human side of technology. A fan of Agatha Christie and other crime novels, he wanted to express himself through storytelling and steered his career towards branding and marketing – which he sees as another way to tell stories.

Ruchir, then, migrated to Mumbai for the next phase in his career. It was in the Maximum City that his belief in technology being the great leveller was reinforced. “The city’s infrastructure is a challenging one, Uber helped me navigate the city” says Ruchir. By using the VoiceOver features, Ruchir could call an Uber wherever he was and move around easily. He reached out to Uber to see if together they could spread the message of accessible technology. This partnership resulted in a video that captures the essence of Ruchir’s story: The World in Voices.


It was important for Ruchir to get rid of the sympathetic lens through which others saw him. His story serves as a message of reassurance to other differently abled persons and abolishes some of the fears, doubts and prejudices present in families, friends, employers or colleagues.

To know more about Ruchir’s journey, see here.

This article was produced by the Scroll marketing team on behalf of Uber and not by the Scroll editorial team.