WhatsApp on Thursday rolled out the “delete for everyone” feature for some users of its messaging application, according to a report in beta testing website WABetaInfo. The feature can be used to recall messages sent by mistake, within a specific time period.
WhatsApp also updated information on the new feature in its list of frequently asked questions. “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat,” it said. “This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.”
A message can be deleted within seven minutes after being sent, and this feature can be useful if the recipient has not read it by then. However, the feature can be used only if both users involved use the latest version of the app with this functionality. It will work for all message types, including text, audio, video or pictures.
Once a message is revoked, the notification received by the device will disappear in the case of iPhones, and will be replaced by “This message was deleted” for Android users, according to the website.