Andhra Pradesh Bifurcation

YSR Congress Party urges president to intervene, push Centre to grant Andhra Pradesh special status

Party chief Jagan Mohan Reddy said in a letter that the state would neither survive nor develop without the special category status.

A delegation of MPs from the YSR Congress Party on Tuesday met President Ram Nath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi, seeking his intervention to push the Centre to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh. The parliamentarians submitted a letter by party chief Jagan Mohan Reddy to the president.

Andhra Pradesh “has been under utter neglect” as the promises made by the Centre and the assurances given on the floor of Parliament as pre-conditions before the state was bifurcated have not been kept, Reddy wrote in the letter. “The ruling Telugu Desam Party government in Andhra Pradesh, being a [former] coalition partner in the National Democratic Alliance Cabinet, did not pursue the matter,” he claimed.

He stressed that Andhra Pradesh would not survive with the Rs 2.2 crore debt it had accrued since its bifurcation without special status. “Andhra Pradesh is reeling through a very difficult phase, with no trace of development, and hence special category status alone will put Andhra Pradesh on the path of development,” the YSR Congress Party chief wrote.

“All our efforts to impress upon the government the dire need to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh have gone unheeded,” Reddy said. He added that 13 no-confidence motions against the government could not be taken up in Parliament during the Budget Session, which concluded on April 6, “under the pretext that the House was not in order”.

The YSR Congress Party leader urged the president to intervene in the matter to ensure that people do not “lose confidence in the overall democratic process” and to honour the highest values of the Indian parliamentary democracy.

The Telugu Desam Party and the Opposition YSR Congress Party are demanding special category status for Andhra Pradesh, saying it has lost a major source of revenue after losing Hyderabad to Telangana. In protest against the Centre’s refusal to grant the special status, ministers of the Telugu Desam Party resigned from the Union Cabinet last month and the party pulled out of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance.

Support our journalism by subscribing to Scroll+ here. We welcome your comments at
Sponsored Content BY 

Get ready for an 80-hour shopping marathon

Here are some tips that’ll help you take the lead.

Starting 16th July at 4:00pm, Flipkart will be hosting its Big Shopping Days sale over 3 days (till 19th July). This mega online shopping event is just what a sale should be, promising not just the best discounts but also buying options such as no cost EMIs, buyback guarantee and product exchanges. A shopping festival this big, packed with deals that you can’t get yourself to refuse, can get overwhelming. So don’t worry, we’re here to tell you why Big Shopping Days is the only sale you need, with these helpful hints and highlights.

Samsung Galaxy On Nxt (64 GB)

A host of entertainment options, latest security features and a 13 MP rear camera that has mastered light come packed in sleek metal unibody. The sale offers an almost 40% discount on the price. Moreover, there is a buyback guarantee which is part of the deal.

Original price: Rs. 17,900

Big Shopping Days price: Rs. 10,900

Samsung 32 inches HD Ready LED TV

Another blockbuster deal in the sale catalogue is this audio and visual delight. Apart from a discount of 41%, the deal promises no-cost EMIs up to 12 months.

Original price: Rs. 28,890

Big Shopping Days price: Rs. 10,900

Intel Core I3 equipped laptops

These laptops will make a thoughtful college send-off gift or any gift for that matter. Since the festive season is around the corner, you might want to make use of this sale to bring your A-game to family festivities.

Original price: Rs. 25,590

Big Shopping Days price: Rs. 21,900


If you’ve been planning a mid-year wardrobe refresh, Flipkart’s got you covered. The Big Shopping Days offer 50% to 80% discount on men’s clothing. You can pick from a host of top brands including Adidas and Wrangler.

With more sale hours, Flipkart’s Big Shopping Days sale ensures we can spend more time perusing and purchasing these deals. Apart from the above-mentioned products, you can expect up to 80% discount across categories including mobiles, appliances, electronics, fashion, beauty, home and furniture.

Features like blockbuster deals that are refreshed every 8 hours along with a price crash, rush hour deals from 4-6 PM on the starting day and first-time product discounts makes this a shopping experience that will have you exclaiming “Sale ho to aisi! (warna na ho)”

Set your reminders and mark your calendar, Flipkart’s Big Shopping Days starts 16th July, 4 PM and end on 19th July. To participate in 80 hours of shopping madness, click here.


This article was produced by the Scroll marketing team on behalf of Flipkart and not by the Scroll editorial team.