The Congress in Mizoram on Thursday announced 36 candidates for the Assembly elections slated for November 28, Morung Express reported. The state’s ruling party said it will contest all 40 seats in the state and will declare the remaining four names after consulting with the autonomous district councils.

The party said it had taken a conscious decision to include new faces. “We are focusing on very young candidates this time,” Youth Congress President Lalmalsawma said, according to The India Express. “There are four candidates below the age of 40 and the majority are below 50. This is a conscious decision – the sitting MLAs have decided to give way to the younger lot.”

Among the incumbents who have been dropped from the list are R Romawia from Aizawl North-I, former Labour minister Lalrinmawia Ralte from Hachhek and Deputy Speaker Lalrinawma from Aizawl East-I.

The party has announced 12 new names in its first list of candidates. Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, who is bidding for a third consecutive term as chief minister, will contest from two constituencies, his home turf Serchhip and Champai South.

On October 6, the Election Commission of India announced the Assembly election dates for Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan, Andhra Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. The counting for the five states will be held simultaneously on December 11.