Entertainment News

‘Ima Sabitri’, ‘The Cinema Travellers’ among winners at Films Division documentary festival

The Mumbai International Film Festival or Documentary, Animation and Short Films also awarded ‘Aaba’ and ‘Santhal Family to Mill Recall’.

The Cinema Travellers and Ima Sabitri were among the winners at the Mumbai International Film Festival for Documentary, Animation and Short Films, which concluded on Saturday.

The Silver Conch for the Best Documentary (under 60 minutes) in the National Competition section went Bobo Khuraijam’s Ima Sabitri. The Manipuri documentary explores the life of the theatre legend Sabitri. The Silver Conch for the Best Documentary (above 60 minutes) was bagged by Santhal Family to Mill Recall, RV Ramani’s chronicle of a 2015 art show dedicated to the legendary sculptor Ramkinkar Baij.

The Film and Television Institute of India production Sakhisona, directed by Prantik Basu, won the Silver Conch for the Best Short Fiction under 45 minutes.

Ima Sabitri.

In the International Competition category, Are You Sleeping, Brother Jakob won the highest honour, the Golden Conch. Directed by Stefan Bohun, Are You Sleeping, Brother Jakob follows four brothers who revisit the suicide of their sibling.

The Certificate of Merit for the Second Best Documentary in the section was given to The Cinema Travellers. The film, by Shirley Abraham and Amit Madheshiya, explores the travelling cinemas tradition in Maharashtra. The Cinema Travellers, which has been shot by Madheshiya, also won the Best Cinematography award in the National/International Competition section.

The Best Sound Design award went to Pinja Mustajoki for the Finnish film My Secret Forest and the prize for Best Editing to Kislay for InstaStories.

The Cinema Travellers.

In the Best Short Fiction Film in the international competition, the Silver Conch was shared between Aaba, directed by Amar Kaushik, and My Turn, by Korean director Nakyung Kim.

The Pramod Pati Special Jury Award in International Competition was awarded to the Films Division production I Am Bonnie, directed by Satarupa Santra, Farha Khatun and Saurabh Kanti Dutta.

The Silver Conch for the Best Animation Film in the National Competition went to Tokri (The Basket), directed by Suresh Eriyat.

Two films were recommended for a Certificate of Merit: Naachi Se Baanchi by Biju Toppo and Meghanath, and I’m Jeeja, by Swati Chakraborty.

Shreyas Dasharathe’s Bismaar Ghar won the Best Student Film in the National Competition section. The Dadasaheb Phalke Chitranagari Award for Best Debut Film went to Beloved by Ranjan Chandel.

I’m Jeeja.
We welcome your comments at letters@scroll.in.
Sponsored Content BY 

When did we start parenting our parents?

As our parents grow older, our ‘adulting’ skills are tested like never before.

From answering every homework question to killing every monster under the bed, from soothing every wound with care to crushing anxiety by just the sound of their voice - parents understandably seemed like invincible, know-it-all superheroes all our childhood. It’s no wonder then that reality hits all of a sudden, the first time a parent falls and suffers a slip disc, or wears a thick pair of spectacles to read a restaurant menu - our parents are growing old, and older. It’s a slow process as our parents turn from superheroes to...human.

And just as slow to evolve are the dynamics of our relationship with them. Once upon a time, a peck on the cheek was a frequent ritual. As were handmade birthday cards every year from the artistically inclined, or declaring parents as ‘My Hero’ in school essays. Every parent-child duo could boast of an affectionate ritual - movie nights, cooking Sundays, reading favourite books together etc. The changed dynamic is indeed the most visible in the way we express our affection.

The affection is now expressed in more mature, more subtle ways - ways that mimics that of our own parents’ a lot. When did we start parenting our parents? Was it the first time we offered to foot the electricity bill, or drove them to the doctor, or dragged them along on a much-needed morning walk? Little did we know those innocent acts were but a start of a gradual role reversal.

In adulthood, children’s affection for their parents takes on a sense of responsibility. It includes everything from teaching them how to use smartphones effectively and contributing to family finances to tracking doctor’s appointments and ensuring medicine compliance. Worry and concern, though evidence of love, tend to largely replace old-fashioned patterns of affection between parents and children as the latter grow up.

It’s something that can be easily rectified, though. Start at the simplest - the old-fashioned peck on the cheek. When was the last time you gave your mom or dad a peck on the cheek like a spontaneous five-year-old - for no reason at all? Young parents can take their own children’s behaviour available as inspiration.

As young parents come to understand the responsibilities associated with caring for their parents, they also come to realise that they wouldn’t want their children to go through the same challenges. Creating a safe and secure environment for your family can help you strike a balance between the loving child in you and the caring, responsible adult that you are. A good life insurance plan can help families deal with unforeseen health crises by providing protection against financial loss. Having assurance of a measure of financial security for family can help ease financial tensions considerably, leaving you to focus on being a caring, affectionate child. Moreover,you can eliminate some of the worry for your children when they grow up – as the video below shows.


To learn more about life insurance plans available for your family, see here.

This article was produced by the Scroll marketing team on behalf of SBI Life and not by the Scroll editorial team.