Puja Tomar reigned supreme in Matrix Fight Night’s first-ever all-women’s main event against her Russian opponent Anastasia Feofanova in a gruelling bout at MFN 12 in Noida Indoor Stadium on Saturday and retained her Strawweight title.

The thrilling main event ran for four rounds. In the first round, Puja Tomar landed a left-hand hook on her opponent’s face and took her down to the ground. Using her long legs, Anastasia managed to keep Puja at bay. With her height advantage, Anastasia locked Puja in a hold, but the Champion pulled herself out and landed powerful kicks to rattle the Russian.

MMA: Meet Puja Tomar – The strawweight champion hardened by life’s battles

Puja showcased tremendous defensive prowess as the bout progressed and despite Anastasia’s long reach, managed to keep her opponent at a distance. Puja kept targetting Anastasia’s left knee, using powerful kicks to wear down her opponent. With combination attacks, Puja landed heavy face blows on the Russian, earning key points.

After intense four rounds, Puja was declared the winner via TKO with a corner stoppage due to Anastasia breaking her forearm from defending Puja’s heavy blows.

After winning the bout, Puja thanked her family for constant support. “Before I say anything, I want to thank my late father. I am sure he will be proud to see me. My family’s constant support has been the reason for me reaching this point in my MMA career.”

On Saturday, Brazil’s Hugo Paiva missed his weight by 2.2 Kilograms, resulting in Angad Bisht declining the fight to defend his Flyweight championship belt at MFN 12.

Mixed Martial Arts: Meet Angad Bisht – the maverick who became flyweight champion

Meanwhile, in the co-main event, MFN overseas prospects Mochamed Machaev from Austria faced off against Khabibullo Azizov from Tajikistan in a gritty featherweight bout. Due to an accidental kick to the groin, the bout was declared as a no contest.

In the Main Card, Chungren Koren defeated Chaitanya Gavali via Technical Knock Out within 3 minutes 30 seconds of the first round. Shyamanand picked up a big win over Egypt’s Mido Mohamed via TKO within 1 minute 14 seconds of the first round.

Rahul Thapa defeated Avizo Lanamai via unanimous decision, while Pawan Maan defeated Sandeep Dahiya via unanimous decision as well after gruelling three rounds. Digamber Singh Rawat picked up a thunderous win over Neeraj Panghal via KO in the first round after 4 minutes 48 seconds.

In the Prelims, Gurtej Singh picked up win over Edukondal Rao by unanimous decision, while Dushyant picked up win over Anthony Syiem with unanimous decision as well. Sonam Zomba stunned fan-favourite Jojo Rajkumari with a win by unanimous decision, while Aminder Bisht also defeated his opponent Akash in flyweight category via unanimous decision.



LIGHTWEIGHT: Gurtej Singh (IND) beats Edukondal Rao (IND) via unanimous decision

FEATHERWEIGHT: Dushyant (IND) beats Anthony Syiem (IND) via unanimous decision

STRAWWEIGHT: Sonam Zomba (IND) beats Jojo Rajkumari (IND) via unanimous decision

FLYWEIGHT:  Aminder Bisht (IND) beats Akash (IND) via unanimous decision


BANTAMWEIGHT: Chungreng Koren (IND) beat Chaitanya Gavali (IND) via TKO

FEATHERWEIGHT: Shyamanand (IND) beats Mido Mohamed (EGY) via TKO

FEATHERWEIGHT: Rahul Thapa (IND) beats Avizo Lanamai (IND) via unanimous decision

LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHT: Pawan Maan (IND) beats Sandeep Dahiya (IND) via unanimous decision

LIGHTWEIGHT: Digamber Singh Rawat (IND) beats Neeraj Panghal via KO

FEATHERWEIGHT: Mochamed Machaev (AT) vs Khabibullo Azizov (TJ) - NO CONTEST

STRAWWEIGHT: Puja Tomar (IND) beats Anastasia Feofanova (RU) via TKO by corner stoppage - Main Event