The blockbuster 2023 Asia Cup clash between India and Pakistan was called off due to the incessant rain on Sunday. The contest will now be resumed on the reserve day i.e. tomorrow with no loss of overs.

India were 147-2 in 24.1 overs after being invited to bat first in Super Fours of the 50-over tournament, a prelude to the ODI World Cup in India.

Virat Kohli, on eight, and returning KL Rahul, on 17, were at the crease when rain forced players off the field and the showers soon got heavy.

The match will restart from the same point on Monday with leg-spinner Shadab Khan taking the ball for Pakistan at 3pm IST.

Earlier sipper Rohit Sharma, who hit 56, and Shubman Gill, who made 58, put on 121 runs for the opening wicket before leg-spinner Shadab Khan and left-arm quick Shaheen Shah Afridi sent them back.

Organisers have slipped in a last-minute reserve day for the match — the only game to get the advantage in the Super Fours – after the previous group meeting between the two teams was washed out due to rain in Pallekele.

Earlier, Jasprit Bumrah was back in the Indian line-up after missing India’s previous two matches. He had flown back home for the birth of his child.

KL Rahul also made his long-awaited comeback to the team, replacing Shreyas Iyer in the starting XI. India captain Rohit Sharma explained that Iyer suffered a back spasm and thus has to miss the match.

Pakistan, meanwhile, had named an unchanged line-up from their last match against Bangladesh.

In their last meeting in the group stage, India posted 266/10 in 48.5 overs as Ishan Kishan and Hardik Pandya steadied the Indian ship after Shaheen Shah Afridi and Haris Rauf left India struggling at 66/4 after 15 overs.

Rain, however, played spoilsport in what could have been an exciting chase as the match was abandoned before the Pakistan batting innings could start.

India XI: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (WK), Hardik Pandya (VC), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav

Pakistan XI: Babar Azam (C), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Agha Salman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan (VC), Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf