The 17th edition of the Indian Premier League will kick off with defending champions and five-time winners Chennai Super Kings taking on Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai on March 22.

The schedule for the first two weeks of the 2024 season, running from March 22, to April 7 was released by the Board of Control for Cricket in India on Thursday.

During the span of the two-week period, there will be 21 matches spread over 10 cities with a minimum of three and a maximum of five matches played by each side.

The Board has announced the schedule only for the first two weeks considering the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections that will see states likely to begin voting after March.

In the release, the Board stated, “The BCCI will work in tandem with local authorities to finalize the schedule for the remainder of the season, taking into account the polling dates.”

The first weekend will feature two double headers, beginning with the Punjab Kings hosting the Delhi Capitals on Saturday afternoon, followed by the Kolkata Knight Riders hosting the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the evening.

On Sunday afternoon, the action will shift to Jaipur, where home team Rajasthan Royals will face the Lucknow Super Giants. Sunday evening will witness the home team Gujarat Titans, the 2022 champions and finalists of the last season going head-to-head with five-time winners Mumbai Indians.

The release also stated that Delhi Capitals decided to opt for Visakhapatnam as the home venue for the first two matches.

According to Cricbuzz, it is likely that the decision was made by the franchise to allow the Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi to undergo maintenance after the back-to-back 11 matches that will be played out in the Women’s Premier League.

Also read: WPL 2024: Format, schedule, squads – All you need to know about the second edition

Delhi Capitals will first host the Chennai Super Kings on Sunday, March 31 in the port city and will then face the Kolkata Knight Riders at the same venue on Wednesday, April 3.

IPL Schedule for the first two weeks

Match No Date Time Home Team Away Team Venue
1 March 22 8:00 PM CSK RCB Chennai
2 March 23 3:30 PM PBKS DC Mohali
3 March 23 7:30 PM KKR SRH Kolkata
4 March 24 3:30 PM RR LSG Jaipur
5 March 24 7:30 PM GT MI Ahmedabad
6 March 25 7:30 PM RCB PBKS Bengaluru
7 March 26 7:30 PM CSK GT Chennai
8 March 27 7:30 PM SRH MI Hyderabad
9 March 28 7:30 PM RR DC Jaipur
10 March 29 7:30 PM RCB KKR Bengaluru
11 March 30 7:30 PM LSG PBKS Lucknow
12 March 31 3:30 PM GT SRH Ahmedabad
13 March 31 7:30 PM DC CSK Vizag
14 April 1 7:30 PM MI RR Mumbai
15 April 2 7:30 PM RCB LSG Bengaluru
16 April 3 7:30 PM DC KKR Vizag
17 April 4 7:30 PM GT PBKS Ahmedabad
18 April 5 7:30 PM SRH CSK Hyderabad
19 April 6 7:30 PM RR RCB Jaipur
20 April 7 3:30 PM MI DC Mumbai
21 April 7 7:30 PM LSG GT Lucknow