The MSK Prasad-led selection panel for the Indian team announced the squad for the first three One-Day Internationals against New Zealand on Thursday, which included a number of surprises. Suresh Raina returned to the squad led by MS Dhoni, while India's spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were rested from the 15-member unit.

Pacer Mohammed Shami has also been rested, given the Bengal pacer's struggles with injuries in the recent past. Dhawal Kulkarni returned to the Indian side once again, while Punjab batsman Mandeep Singh was also given the nod on the back of some fine List A performances. The hard hitting Maharashtra batsman, Kedar Jadhav, also finds a place in the squad.

The squad:

MS Dhoni (c), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Dhawal Kulkarni, Umesh Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav.