Sunil Chhetri surpassed Bhaichung Bhutia tally of 89 goals to become India’s all-time highest goal-scorer in league football as Bengaluru FC drew 1-1 with Aizawl FC in the I-League on Wednesday.

The landmark includes goals from the erstwhile National Football League and the current I-League. Chhetri scored his 90th goal as he helped his side equalise.

He sent the ball into top right corner with a shot from the edge of the box five minutes after Aizawl had taken the lead through Brandon Vanlalremdika.

Chhetri’s day soon turned sour as he failed to convert a penalty. He had a chance to give Bengaluru the lead after Sandesh Jhingan was brought down inside the box in the 54th minute for a contentious penalty. The Bengaluru skipper stepped up, but was denied by Aizawl keeper Albino, who was in top form in the second-half.

Five minutes later, Jhingan headed the ball in from a John johnson corner, but was disallowed by the referee who deemed Jhingan’s lunge to have obstructed keeper Albino.

Both sides traded a number of chances in the final 30 minutes but could not find the back of the net as the game ended in a stalemate.

The draw means Aizawl and Bengaluru remain at third and fifth position in the table respectively.

The score

  • Aizawl FC 1 (Brandon Vanlalremdika) drew with Bengaluru FC 1 (Sunil Chhetri).