Neroca FC drubbed Lonestar Kashmir FC 4-1 in Kashmir to become the first ever team from Manipur to win the I-League second division.

With this win, NEROCA become the sixth team from the North-East to win the I-League second division in the last seven years, after Shillong Lajong (2011), United Sikkim (‘12), Rangjadeid United (‘13), Royal Wahingdoh (‘14) and Aizawl FC (‘15)

The victory lifted Neroca to 23 points from nine matches, seven points clear of Kolkata’s Southern Samity.

Following their sole loss in the zonal round to Mohammedan Sporting in January 2017, Neroca FC went on to continue an enviable unbeaten run of 12 matches including today’s win against Lonestar Kashmir FC. In the final round, the Gift Raikhan-coached side conceded only three goals in eight matches while netting not less than fifteen.

Mr. Sunando Dhar, CEO, I-League lauded the Manipur-outfit. “After Shillong Lajong FC came up the ranks to represent the Northeast region in the National Football map, Aizawl FC set an example recently. Northeast has always been the hotbed of Indian Football and Neroca FC would, surely, take the legacy forward,” he stated.

“With Neroca FC’s introduction into the top flight Indian Football, the competition in the Northeast region will definitely be fiercer and tougher.”