The Board of Control for Cricket in India selection committee, on Saturday, named Ravindra Jadeja as the replacement for the injured Axar Patel in the Indian team for the first three One-day Internationals of the five-match series against Australia.

The first match of the series starts on Sunday at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Patel, who impressed on India’s dominant displays during the Sri Lanka tour, sprained his left ankle during a practice session and has been advised rest, stated a release from BCCI. The medical team is currently monitoring his recovery.

Jadeja, along with spin spearhead Ravichandran Ashwin were rested for the series with Patel and wrist-spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal given the nod in Sri Lanka and the upcoming Australia series. The visitors had to deal with a big blow ahead of the series with big-hitting opener Aaron Finch suffering an injury. Test specialist Peter Handscomb was named as Finch’s replacement.

India Squad for first three ODIs

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.