Vishnu Vardhan will return to defend his men’s singles title at the Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship while last year’s winner Riya Bhatia heads the field in the women’s section this year as well.

The Nationals, which will be held from October 2 at the Delhi Lawn Tennis Association complex, will be played on hard courts. The prize purse for the winner is Rs 3,00,000 while the runner-up will get Rs 2,00,000. AITA has also published on its website that there is a provision of a grant from the Government for singles winners of the Nationals.

The experienced Vardhan will be hoping to repeat his feat in a field which also includes SK Mukund, Siddharth Rawat and VM Ranjeet.

Four-time winner at the Fenesta Open, Prerna Bhambri will also be competing in the ladies draw, along with Rutuja Bhonsale, who has won the title once before. Dhruti Venugopal, Pranjala Yadlapalli, Zeel Desai and Eetee Maheta will also feature in the draw.

The two-week long event will host the men’s, women’s and under-18 events in the first week. The second week will feature the under-14 and under-16 boys and girls events.