Australia captain Steve Smith and David Warner have been banned from playing cricket for their country for 12 months as a result of Cricket Australia’s investigation into a damaging ball-tampering scandal, Cricket Australia informed.

A release sent by the board further stated that the three players involved in the incident will not be considered for leadership role in the near future. Each player will also have to undertake 100 hours of voluntary service in community cricket.

“Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft will not be considered for team leadership positions until a minimum of 12 months after the conclusion of their respective suspensions from international and domestic cricket,” said CA in a statement.

“Any consideration of future leadership would be conditional on acceptance by fans and the public, form and authority among the playing group. David Warner will not be considered for team leadership positions in the future,” it added.

The findings further revealed that Smith, Warner and opening batsman Cameron Bancroft used sandpaper and not tape as they had claimed to doctor the ball in the Test match against South Africa.

Here is the list of findings on the basis of which the ball-tampering trio were punished: