Day eight saw India extend it’s tally to 14 gold medals, Gold Coast thus becoming India’s fifth most successful Games ever after New Delhi 2010 (38 golds), Manchester 2002 (30), Melbourne 2006 (22) and Glasgow 2014 (15).

Sushil Kumar and Rahul Aware got India off to a flying start in wrestling, both winning gold medals. This was Sushil’s third Gold in the Commonwealth Games after one each in the previous two editions. Babita Kumari and Kiran earned a silver and bronze respectively.

The Indian athletics contingent finally opened their account when Seema Punia and Navjeet Kaur Dhillon pulled a 2-3 in the Discus Throw event, winning a silver and a bronze respectively. With Glasgow bronze medallist Arpinder Singh and Rakesh Babu qualifying for the Triple Jump finals, it was a good day overall for Indian athletics.

Tejaswini Sawant won a silver medal in the 50 metres prone rifle event, while Neeraj Kumar and Anish Bhanwala stand first and third after the first qualification stage of the 25 metre Rapid Fire pistol.

India played Australia in the women’s hockey semi-finals and lost a close-run encounter 1-0. They will now play for the bronze. Elsewhere, Manika Batra stormed into the semi-finals in both the singles and the doubles competition, while all the shuttlers won their respective matches.


Event Players Time Result
Triple Jump - men (Q) Arpinder Singh
Rakesh Babu
6.00 am Arpinder, Rakesh qualify for finals
Long Jump - women (Final) Nayana James
Neena Pinto
3.25 pm Nayana finished 12th, Neena finished 10th
Discus Throw - women (Final) Seema Antil
Navjeet Kaur Dhillon
4.10 pm Seema wins silver, Navjeet wins bronze
Heptathlon Purnima Hembram 100m hurdles - 5.35 am
High Jump - 6.30 am
Shot put- 2.50 pm
200m - 4.27 pm
Purnima currently stands sixth 

Seema Punia and Navjeet Kaur open India’s account.


Event Players  Time Result
25m Rapid Fire Pistol men's (Q) - Day one Anish Bhanwal
Neeraj Kumar
4.30 am At the end of qualification - stage I, Neeraj is first and Anish is third
50m prone rifle - women's (FINAL) Anjum Moudgil
Tejaswini Sawant
9.30 am Sawant wins silver, Moudgil finishes 16th

Tejaswini Sawant wins a silver medal.


Event Players Time (APPROXIMATE) Result
Round of 16 - mixed doubles Satwiksairaj / Ashwini Ponnappa 
Tsai Kristen / Yakura Nyl
6.31 am Satwik/Ponnappa win 2-0
Round of 16 - mixed doubles Pranaav Jerry Chopra / Sikki Reddy
Chrisnanta Danny Bawa / Wong Jia Ying Crystal
7.10 am Chopra/Reddy win 2-0
Round of 16 - Women's Singles Ruthvika S Gadde
Jia Min Yeo 
7.10 am Ruthvika wins 2-1
Round of 16 - Men's Singles HS Prannoy
Anthony Joe 
7.50 am Prannoy wins 2-0
Round of 16 - Men's Singles K Srikanth
Niluka Karunaratne
8.30 am Srikanth wins 2-0
Round of 16 - Women's Singles PV Sindhu
Hsuan-Yu Wendy Chen
9.10 am Sindhu wins 2-0
Round of 16 - Women's Singles Saina Nehwal
Jessica Li
2.20 pm Saina wins after her opponent concedes
Round of 16 - Men's doubles Satwiksairaj / Chirag Shetty
CJ Paul / Lubah Aatish
2.20 pm Satwik/Chirag win 2-0
Round of 16 - Women's doubles Ashwini Ponnapp / Sikki Reddy
Ren-ne / Jia Ying Crystal
3.40 pm Ashwini/Sikki win 2-0


Event Teams Time Result
Women's semi-final India v Australia 4.45 pm Australia win 1-0, India to play for bronze.

India go down 0-1 to Australia in a tense semi-final.

Table Tennis

Event Players Time Result
Women's doubles - round of 16 Pooja Sahasrabudhe/ Suthirtha Mukherjee vs Chloe Thomas/Charlotte Carey (Wal) 5 am Sahasrabudhe/Mukherjee win 3-1
Women's doubles - round of 16 Manika Batra/ Mouma Das vs Ishara Madurangi/Hansani Kapugeekiyana (Sri) 5 am Batra/Das win 3-0
Women's TT6 singles - Group 1 Maitreyee Sarkar vs Felicity Pickard 6.10 am Sarkar loses 0-3
Women's TT6 singles - Group 2 Vaishnavi Sutar vs Andrea McDonnell (Aus) 6.10 am Sutar loses 0-3
Mixed doubles - round of 16 Sharath Kamal/Mouma Das vs David McBeath/Kelly Sibley (Eng) 6.45 am Sharath/Das win 3-0
Mixed doubles - round of 16 G Sathiyan/Manika Batra vs Marco Medjugorac/Alicia Cote (Can) 7.20 am Sathiyan/Batra win 3-2
Mixed doubles - round of 16 Sanil Shetty/Madhurika Patkar vs Rhikesh Taucoory/Elodie Ho (Mri) 7.20 am Shetty/Patkar win 3-0
Women's singles - round of 16 Manika Batra vs Tracy Feng (Aus) 7.55 am Batra won 4-1
Women's singles - round of 16 Madhurika Patkar vs Kelly Sibley (Eng) 7.55 am Patkar loses 2-4
Women's singles - round of 16 Mouma Das vs Tin-Tin Ho (Eng) 8.40 am Das wins 4-3
Men's singles - round of 16 Sharath Kamal vs Heming Hu (Aus) 9.25 am Sharath wins 4-1
Men's singles - round of 16 Harmeet Desai vs Cheng Feng Leong (Mas) 9.25 am Desai wins 4-1
Men's singles - round of 16 Sathiyan G vs Segun Toriola (Nig) 12.00 pm Sathiyan wins after his opponent retires
Women's doubles - QF Manika Batra/Mouma Das vs Tin-Tin Ho/Maria Tsaptsinos (Eng) 12.45 pm Batra/Das win 3-1
Women's doubles - QF Pooja Sahasrabudhe/ Suthirtha Mukherjee vs Mo Zhang/Alicia Kote (Can) 12.45 pm Sahasrabudhe/Mukherjee win 3-0
Men's doubles - round of 16 A Sharath Kamal/G Sathiyan vs Buwaneka Jayashingha/Imesha Ranasingha 1.25 pm Sharath/Sathiyan win
Men's doubles - round of 16 Harmeet Desai / Sanil Shetty vs Paul McCreery/Ashley Robinson (Nir) 2.05 pm Desai/Shetty win 3-0
Women's singles -- QF Manika Batra vs Yihan Zhou (Sgp) 3.30 pm Batra wins 4-1
Women's singles -- QF Mouma Das vs Mengyu Yu (Sgp) 4.15 pm Mouma lost 1-4

Manika Batra makes it to the semis.


Event Players Time Result
Men's doubles - Pool F Vikram Malhotra/Ramit Tandon vs Ernest Jombla/Yusif Mansaray (Sle) 7.20 am Vikram/Ramit Tandon advance via w/o
Mixed doubles - Round of 16 Dipika Pallikal/Saurav Ghosal vs Aifa Azman/Sanjay Singh Chal (Mas) 8.00 am Dipika/Ghosal win 2-1
Mixed doubles - Round of 16 Joshna Chinappa/Harinder Pal Sandhu vs Amanda Landers-Murphy/Rac Millar (Nzl)  8.00 am Joshna/Sandhu win 2-1
Mixed doubles QF Dipika Pallikal/Saurav Ghosal vs Tesni Evans/Peter Creed (Wal) 1.30 pm Pallikal/Ghosal win 2-0
Mixed's doubles - QF Joshna Chinappa/Harinder Pal Sandhu vs Joelle King/Paul Coll 2.20 pm Chinappa/Sandhu lose 0-2
Men's doubles - Round of 16 Vikram Malhotra/Ramit Tandon vs Chris Binnie/Lewis Walters (Jam) Tandon/Malhotra win 2-0


Category (all are medal events) Players Time Result
Men's Freestyle - 57 kg Rahul Aware Around 6.30 am Aware wins gold
Women's - 76 kg
Kiran Around 6.45 am Kiran wins bronze
Men's Freestyle - 74 kg Sushil Kumar Around 6.30 am Sushil wins gold
Women's - 53 kg Babita Kumari (multiple bouts during the day in group stage) Around 6.15 am Babita wins silver

Two gold, a silver and bronze from day 1

Lawn Bowls

Event Players/Team Time Result
Women's Pairs QF India vs Malaysia 4.31 am India lose 11-17
Men's Fours QF India vs Wales 8.00 am India lose 15-17