Sajan Prakash and Arvind Mani won seven medals for India at the Malaysian Open swimming that concluded at the National Aquatic Centre, Bukit Jalil in Malaysia on Sunday.

Sajan, who had a good run in the recently concluded Commonwealth Games, clinched a gold medal in the men’s 200m butterfly event. The timing of 1:58.08s Sajan took to finish the race is his personal best time. He topped Johor’s Tia Faang Der and Melaka’s Low Zhen Yong in the podium.

Swimmer  Medal Event

Sajan Prakash
200m butterfly
100m butterfly
50m butterfly
200m freestyle
400m freestyle
Arvind Mani Silver
100m backstroke
200m backstroke

Sajan also won a silver medal in the 100m butterfly event, finishing second in 54.13s. He added two more medals of silver in the 50m butterfly and 200m freestyle events and a bronze medal in 400m freestyle.

Sajan’s younger compatriot Arvind Mani accounted for India’s other two medals – a silver and a bronze – in the 100m backstroke and the 200m backstroke, respectively.

Hong Kong, with 20 gold medals, six silvers and two bronzes topped the medals tally. The Malaysian state of Selangor was second with 27 medals (seven golds, 11 silver medals and nine bronze medals).

India, with seven medals, finished sixth.