India’s frontline Test spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, discarded opener Murali Vijay and wicket-keeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik were on Wednesday named in a strong Tamil Nadu team for the Ranji Trophy, which begins on November 1.

The team, led by Baba Indrajith, also includes all-rounders Washington Sundar and Vijay Shankar. Medium-pacer S Abhishek Tanwar is the new face in the Ranji squad. The 27-year old had a good outing for Madurai Panthers in the third edition of Tamil Nadu Premier League held recently.

The team will be missing the services of left-arm paceman T Natarajan and right-arm medium-pacer K Vignesh, both of whom sustained injuries recently. The fast bowling unit will consist of M Mohammed, J Kousik, Tanwar and R Rohit. Ashwin leads a spin attack that also includes the experienced Rahil Shah and the young R Sai Kishore, apart from Washington Sundar.

State selection panel chief S Sharath and captain Indrajith said the team was capable of doing well. “It is a balanced team and we have all the bases covered. They will do well,” Sharath told PTI.

Meanwhile, Indrajith said it was well-balanced squad the selectors had picked,adding the presence of Test stars Ashwin, Vijay and Dinesh Karthik provides a lot of experience. “It is a good all-round side and a balanced one. I am confident we will do well.

Ashwin’s presence gives the team a boost and along with Rahil Shah and Washington Sundar, gives the spin department a strong look,” he said. Tamil Nadu begins its campaign against Madhya Pradesh at Dindigul on November 1.

Team: B Indrajith (c), M Kaushik Gandhi, Abhinav Mukund, M Vijay, Vijay Shankar, B Aparajith, Dinesh Karthik, N Jagadeesan, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, R Sai Kishore, Rahil Shah, M Mohammed, J Kousik, R Rohit, S Abhishek Tanwar.