Congress leader Rahul Gandhi has won the Wayanad Lok Sabha seat in Kerala by a margin of 3.6 lakh votes, according to Election Commission data. He defeated the Communist Party of India’s Annie Raja.

Gandhi also won from Uttar Pradesh’s Rae Bareli constituency against the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Dinesh Pratap Singh, with a margin of 3.9 lakh votes.

In the 2019 general elections, senior Congress leader Sonia Gandhi, who had represented Rae Bareli since 2004, defeated Singh by a margin of 1.5 lakh votes. This time, the 77-year-old decided not to fight the Lok Sabha elections due to her age and health concerns, paving the way for her son to contest from the seat.

Rae Bareli is seen as a Congress bastion in Uttar Pradesh, where the party has lately struggled to make an impact in the state’s electoral politics.

Watch: Elections Online – the election results coverage by five independent newsrooms

As of 8.45 pm, the Congress had won 12 seats in Kerala, including Thiruvananthapuram that was won by Shashi Tharoor, and was leading in one other seat.

In Thrissur, the BJP’s Suresh Gopi defeated the Congress’ VS Sunilkumar, securing its only seat in Kerala. The Hindutva party was not leading in any other seat in the southern state.

The Indian Union Muslim League had won one seat and was leading from one other, while the Communist Party of India (Marxist) had secured one seat. Kerala has 20 Lok Sabha constituencies.

In Uttar Pradesh, the BJP had secured 25 seats as of 8.45 pm including Varanasi, where Modi won by a margin of 1.52 lakh votes. It was leading in another eight seats.

The Samajwadi Party, an INDIA bloc member, had won 24 seats and was leading in 13 others.

The Congress had won five seats, including Rae Bareli, and was leading in one other.

Uttar Pradesh has 80 Lok Sabha constituencies.

Follow Scroll’s 2024 Lok Sabha elections coverage here