Batsman Virat Kohli was on Monday named the captain of the World Twenty20 XI, announced at the end of the tournament. Bowler Ashish Nehra was the only other Indian player in the team, which included four Englishmen, two West Indians, and a player each from South Africa, Australia and New Zealand. The women's team of the tournament, whose skipper was Stafanie Taylor of the West Indies, did not feature any Indian cricketer.

This is the second consecutive time that an Indian player has been named captain of the team, reported PTI. Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named the captain of the World T20 XI in 2014, after India reached the final and lost to Sri Lanka. Four Indians had made the team at the time.

Kohli was earlier also adjudged Man of the Tournament, after he hit 273 runs in five matches, including three half-centuries, at an average of 136.50 and a strike-rate of 146.77. He was the second-highest run-scorer in the tournament, behind Bangladesh's Tamim Iqbal who hit 295 runs. Nehra took five wickets in the tournament at an average of 22.60 and economy rate of 5.94.

Men's World T20 XI: Jason Roy (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli (India, captain), Joe Root (England), Jos Buttler (England), Shane Watson (Australia), Andre Russell (West Indies), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), David Willey (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Ashish Nehra (India), 12th man – Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh).

Women's World T20 XI: Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlotte Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Sune Luus (South Africa), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Anya Shrubsole (England), 12th woman – Anam Amin (Pakistan).