The Left Democratic Front's Pinarayi Vijayan was sworn in as the chief minister of Kerala at Central Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on Wednesday, ANI reported. Governor P Sathasivam administered the oath to Vijayan and 19 ministers. The previous Oomen Chandy cabinet had 21 ministers.

General Secretary of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) Sitaram Yechury and senior party leader Prakash Karat were present at the ceremony. The 72-year-old son of a toddy tapper is referred to as the Deng of Kerala, after legendary Chinese statesman Deng Xiaoping

The CPI(M)-led alliance won 91 constituencies in the election for the 140-seat Assembly. The alliance also includes the Communist Party of India, Janata Dal (Secular), Nationalist Congress Party and Congress (Socialist). The cabinet has 12 ministers from CPI(M), four from CPI, and one each from JD (S), NCP and Congress (S), reported Hindustan Times. The state elections were held on May 16, and the results were declared on May 19.