The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Wednesday elected former Indian wicket-keeper MSK Prasad as the chairperson of India's selection panel during its Annual General Meeting. Prasad will succeed Sandeep Patil and head the five-member committee that includes two members with no Test match experience.

Former Indian fast-bowler Venkatesh Prasad will continue as the junior selection panel chief. The BBCI also re-elected Ajay Shirke their secretary. Reports said N Srinivasan, who was replaced as the board’s chairman last year, is likely to return as BCCI chief.

The AGM has come after the Lodha panel directed the BCCI to limit decisions made at the meeting to “routine business concerning the past year (2015-’16)”. The Supreme Court-instituted panel had said business relating to the next year (2016-’17) can be dealt with “only after the adoption of the MoA and Rules as per the recommendations of the Committee in accordance with the same.” The BCCI had told the committee it would not conduct business that “does not have the sanction of the law”, however, the cricket body appears to be proceeding with its meeting that includes new appointments.

A former BCCI member told The Hindu, “We are given to understand that once the AGM discusses the forthcoming year’s agenda, the decisions will be termed illegal and the Board may be sued for contempt of court”.