The Indian women’s cricket team has been penalised for skipping three matches against Pakistan in the Women’s Championship tournament. The International Cricket Council has docked all six points of the Indian team against the Pakistan team. The matches were supposed to take place between August 1 and October 31, 2016.

The technical committee of the ICC said the Board of Control for Cricket in India failed to furnish ‘acceptable reasons’ for skipping the matches, reported dna. The cricketing body said it was aware of the current tense relations between the neighbouring countries.

A BCCI official told PTI: “The ICC is well aware that in the prevailing situation where Indian soldiers are being martyred, the sentiment is dead against playing Pakistan. The chairman is well aware that we need government permission.” He criticised the step taken by the ICC, and said, “This is a move with an ulterior motive trying to play into the hands of Pakistan.” He added that the men’s team would boycott the Champions Trophy if the ICC did not take back their order.

The council also said that the Pakistan team would be given two points each for the three matches that their Indian counterparts skipped. Australia, England, New Zealand and the West Indies have already qualified for the ICC Women’s World Cup in England between June 26, 2017 to July 23, 2017. India, South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Ireland, Zimbabwe, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Thailand will play the Women’s World Cup Qualifier in Sri Lanka from February 7 to February 21, 2017 for their spots in the World Cup.