Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar will be sworn in as the next chief justice of India on January 4, 2017, reported ANI. He will succeed Chief Justice TS Thakur, whose term will end on January 3.

Justice Khehar will be the 44th chief justice of India. He will remain in office till August 4, 2017. He will also be the first Sikh chief justice of the country, reported The Times of India. Justice Thakur formally recommended his name for the post on Tuesday. Justice Khehar was appointed the new Executive Chairman of the National Legal Services Authority in November.