Indian woman cricketer Smriti Mandhana has made it to the International Cricket Council’s Women’s Team of the year 2016. She is the only Indian in the team. Mandhana, who had a stellar tour of Australia earlier this year, scored 157 runs in the three One-Day Internationals, including her maiden century. She is also the second Indian after Harmanpreet Kaur to represent India in Australia’s Women’s Big Bash League, where she is currently playing for Brisbane Heat.

New Zealand’s Suzie Bates became the first cricketer to clinch both the ICC Women’s ODI and T20I Player of the Year awards. Bates scored 472 runs in eight ODIs at an average of just over 94. She also took eight wickets with a strike-rate of 22.50 and economy-rate of 3.75. In the shortest format of the game, Bates was the leading run-scorer with 429 runs at an average of 42.90 and a strike-rate of over 115 runs per 100 balls.