Eleven Opposition legislators – nine from the Congress and two from Telugu Desam Party – were suspended from the Telangana Legislative Assembly on Saturday for a day after they created a ruckus in the House. Speaker Madhusudhana Chary passed the suspension order after Legislative Affairs Minister Harish Rao moved a resolution, reported IANS.

The Opposition MLAs reportedly wanted a debate over their demand for disqualification of the legislators who have moved into ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi. When Speaker Chary rejected their adjournment motion, the lawmakers trooped to the Well and started raising slogans.

Congress MLA M Bhatti Vikramarka told PTI that their suspension and the defection of Opposition members into TRS were against democracy. Another party leader, KA Jana Reddy, called the suspension order “unfortunate”. He said that it was the first time that such an action has been taken against the members without a warning.

TRS MLA G Suneetha, on the other hand, accused the Congress members of trying to disrupt the House proceedings. She told PTI that the Opposition members do not want the good work done by the government to be discussed in the House.