Economist Rajiv Kumar was named new vice chairperson of the Niti Aayog on Saturday. This comes four days after Arvind Panagariya resigned from the post. He is likely to take charge after Panagariya’s last day in office on August 31.

Kumar, an economist from the Oxford University, has served as the director and chief executive of the Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations. He has also worked with the Asian Development Bank.

Panagariya had resigned as the vice chairperson of the Niti Aayog on August 1, saying he would return to academics in the United States.

The Niti Aayog, or the National Institution for Transforming India, replaced the Planning Commission after the Narendra Modi government came to power in 2014.