The State Bank of India has asked customers of banks that were associated with it earlier to get new SBI cheque books soon. The old cheque books and Indian Financial System Code – better known as IFSC – of six former subsidiary banks will not be valid after September 30, SBI said.

These include the State Bank of Patiala, State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur, State Bank of Raipur, State Bank of Travancore, State Bank of Hyderabad and the Bharatiya Mahila Bank.

Customers can get new cheque books through internet and mobile banking, at ATMs or by visiting the home branch.

In August 2016, the SBI board had approved the merger of the five associate banks and the Bharatiya Mahila Bank with itself. The Union Cabinet had approved the merger of the former associate banks in February, and the Bharatiya Mahila Bank’s merger was approved in March.

India’s largest lender moved into the top 50 banks in the world in terms of assets after this move.