The Bharatiya Janata Party on Wednesday announced its candidates for the Himachal Pradesh Assembly election, which will be held on November 9.

Former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal (pictured above) will contest from Sujanpur instead of Hamirpur, which he won in 2012. Pramod Sharma will contest from Shimla Rural while Ratan Singh Pal will contest from Arki in Solan district.

The BJP is yet to declare its chief ministerial candidate. Union Health Minister JP Nadda is absent from the list. The BJP leadership had explored the idea of appointing Union Health Minister JP Nadda as state president but developed cold feet after initial response from state leaders, The Hindustan Times reported last month.

Himachal Pradesh BJP chief Satpal Singh is also in the list.