Award Winner

Infosys 2017 Prizes: Neuroscientist, chemistry professor among six winners

The awards will be given away on January 10 in Bengaluru.

Six scholars were on Wednesday named winners of the 2017 Infosys Prizes across disciplines by the Infosys Science Foundation. This is only the second time that as many women won the award as men. The Infosys Science Foundation’s prize was announced in the fields of engineering and computer science, humanities, life sciences, mathematical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.

Nobel Laureate Kip Thorne will be the chief guest at the awards event in Bengaluru on January 10. The winners were:

  • Engineering and Computer Science: Sanghamitra Bandyopadhyay, director, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
  • Humanities: Ananya Jahanara Kabir, professor, King’s College, London
  • Life Sciences: Upinder Singh Bhalla, professor, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bengaluru
  • Physical Sciences: Yamuna Krishnan, University of Chicago
  • Mathematics: Ritabrata Munshi, professor, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai and Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
  • Social Sciences: Lawrence Liang, professor, Ambedkar University, Delhi

Nobel Laureate Amartya Sen and former World Bank Chief Economist Kaushik Basu were part of the jury.

Neurologist Bhalla has made “pioneering contributions” in the understanding of the brain’s computational machinery, the award foundation said.

While Bandyopadhyay was recognised for the impact of her work in biological data analysis, and her discoveries in cancer, Alzheimer’s and HIV, Kabir received the honour for her study of colonial modernity and ethnography of cultural and political life in Kashmir.

Munshi was recognised for his contributions to the number theory, Krishnan for her work on DNA, and Liang for his “creative scholarship” on law and society.

Infosys Science Foundation gives away the awards annually to honour achievements of researchers and scientists across the six fields. Each prize carries a gold medal, a citation and a Rs 65 lakh award. It was first given in mathematics in 2008.

Support our journalism by subscribing to Scroll+ here. We welcome your comments at
Sponsored Content BY 

Following a mountaineer as he reaches the summit of Mount Everest

Accounts from Vikas Dimri’s second attempt reveal the immense fortitude and strength needed to summit the Everest.

Vikas Dimri made a huge attempt last year to climb the Mount Everest. Fate had other plans. Thwarted by unfavourable weather at the last minute, he came so close and yet not close enough to say he was at the top. But that did not deter him. Vikas is back on the Everest trail now, and this time he’s sharing his experiences at every leg of the journey.

The Everest journey began from the Lukla airport, known for its dicey landing conditions. It reminded him of the failed expedition, but he still moved on to Namche Bazaar - the staging point for Everest expeditions - with a positive mind. Vikas let the wisdom of the mountains guide him as he battled doubt and memories of the previous expedition. In his words, the Everest taught him that, “To conquer our personal Everest, we need to drop all our unnecessary baggage, be it physical or mental or even emotional”.

Vikas used a ‘descent for ascent’ approach to acclimatise. In this approach, mountaineers gain altitude during the day, but descend to catch some sleep. Acclimatising to such high altitudes is crucial as the lack of adequate oxygen can cause dizziness, nausea, headache and even muscle death. As Vikas prepared to scale the riskiest part of the climb - the unstable and continuously melting Khumbhu ice fall - he pondered over his journey so far.

His brother’s diagnosis of a heart condition in his youth was a wakeup call for the rather sedentary Vikas, and that is when he started focusing on his health more. For the first time in his life, he began to appreciate the power of nutrition and experimented with different diets and supplements for their health benefits. His quest for better health also motivated him to take up hiking, marathon running, squash and, eventually, a summit of the Everest.

Back in the Himalayas, after a string of sleepless nights, Vikas and his team ascended to Camp 2 (6,500m) as planned, and then descended to Base Camp for the basic luxuries - hot shower, hot lunch and essential supplements. Back up at Camp 2, the weather played spoiler again as a jet stream - a fast-flowing, narrow air current - moved right over the mountain. Wisdom from the mountains helped Vikas maintain perspective as they were required to descend 15km to Pheriche Valley. He accepted that “strength lies not merely in chasing the big dream, but also in...accepting that things could go wrong.”

At Camp 4 (8,000m), famously known as the death zone, Vikas caught a clear glimpse of the summit – his dream standing rather tall in front of him.

It was the 18th of May 2018 and Vikas finally reached the top. The top of his Everest…the top of Mount Everest!

Watch the video below to see actual moments from Vikas’ climb.


Vikas credits his strength to dedication, exercise and a healthy diet. He credits dietary supplements for helping him sustain himself in the inhuman conditions on Mount Everest. On heights like these where the oxygen supply drops to 1/3rd the levels on the ground, the body requires 3 times the regular blood volume to pump the requisite amount of oxygen. He, thus, doesn’t embark on an expedition without double checking his supplements and uses Livogen as an aid to maintain adequate amounts of iron in his blood.

Livogen is proud to have supported Vikas Dimri on his ambitious quest and salutes his spirit. To read more about the benefits of iron, see here. To read Vikas Dimri’s account of his expedition, click here.

This article was produced by the Scroll marketing team on behalf of Livogen and not by the Scroll editorial team.