The Congress on Monday released its final list of 14 candidates for the second phase of the Gujarat Assembly elections scheduled to be held in December. The party left two seats for the ally Bharatiya Tribal Party, and will support Dalit leader Jignesh Mevani in the Vadgam constituency, PTI reported.

Mevani announced earlier in the day that he would contest the election from Vadgam as an independent candidate.

On Sunday night, the Congress had released its third list of 76 candidates. It had earlier announced names of 86 candidates in two lists.

In the fourth list, the party dropped four of its sitting MLAs, and named Alpesh Thakor as its candidate from Radhanpur constituency, which is currently held by the Bharatiya Janata Party. Thakor, the founder of the Other Backward Classes, Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe (OSS) Ekta Manch and Thakor Kshatriya Sena, joined the Congress in October.

The Congress also replaced a candidate it had named earlier for Manjalpur constituency. Chirag Zaveri will contest the election from the seat instead of Purvesh Borela.

The polls will be held in two phases – on December 9 and December 14. The results will be declared on December 18.